Where is smoking allowed?


Posted at May 19 2017 06:42 PM

Watch also in iWantTFC

President Rodrigo Duterte recently signed an executive order banning smoking in public places nationwide.

Executive Order 26 provides standards for designated smoking areas (DSA), which may either be an open space or a separate area with proper ventilation.

Speaking to ANC on Friday, Health Assistant Secretary Eric Tayag explains that smoking areas should have a “buffer zone” so that non-smokers would not be exposed to the air.

“There should still be a buffer zone wherein people close to the designated smoking area will not be exposed,” he said.

Tayag said areas where smoking is totally banned are health facilities, establishments frequented by minors, areas with potential fire hazards such as gasoline stations, areas where food is cooked, public stairways, escalators, and elevators.

Minors are also not allowed in smoking areas. Meanwhile, all buildings, regardless of size, are only allowed 1 smoking area, Tayag said.

He also noted that electronic cigarettes are not covered by the EO which only covers tobacco products.

-ANC Top Story, May 19, 2017