SEA Games: PH track-and-field hits pay dirt with 11 gold, 27 total medals

Karl Cedrick Basco, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Dec 11 2019 01:42 AM

Eric Cray won his fourth straight 400 hurdles title in the SEA Games on Tuesday. Czar Dancel, ABS-CBN News

CAPAS, Tarlac—Eric Cray and Aries Toledo successfully defended their titles to close the Philippine track-and-field team's Southeast Asian Games campaign with 11 gold and 27 overall medals at New Clark City's Athletic Stadium on Tuesday.

Cray, who missed the 100-meter run after a false start, remained the hurdles king, ruling for the fourth straight time the men's 400 meter hurdles in 50.21 seconds.

"I came to compete. I’m so happy. There are a lot of bad times, haven’t been running so good, so I’ve been really down myself," said Cray, who has won the event since 2013. 

Toledo was given the strongest man tag in the Games as he repeated as the men's decathlon champion. 

"Masaya ako ngayon nakuha ko ulit 'yung titulo ko. Gold nu'ng 2017 at ngayon gold ulit dahil sa pagpupursigi ko sa training, sa hirap. Sabi nga ng coach ko, hard work para makuha mo ulit 'yung gintong medalya," Toledo said.

Three Filipino athletes finished runner-up on the last day of the competitions: Mark Harry Diones in men's triple jump, William Morrison in men's discus throw, and Joida Gagnao in the women's 3000m steeplechase. 

Gagnao also took home bronze in the women's 5000m run. 

Other third-placers were the 4x100 relay women's team (Eloiza Luzon, Jessel Lumapas, Maureen Schrijvers and Robyn Brown) and men's team (Michael Carlo del Prado, Frederick Ramirez, Joyme Sequita, and Edgardo Alejan Jr.).

Brown also finished third in the women's 400m hurdles.

Aries Toledo defended his SEA Games men's decathlon championship. Czar Dancel, ABS-CBN News

Overall, the Philippines amassed 11-8-9 gold-silver-bronze medals in athletics.

Kristina Knott heralded herself as the country's top female sprinter, winning gold in the 200 meters and taking the silver in the 100s.

There was a changing of the guard in women's marathon, as Christine Hallasgo dethroned compatriot Mary Joy Tabal.

As expected, EJ Obiena won the men's pole vault title, with Natalie Uy victorious on the women's side to complete the double.

Here are the medal winners from the Philippines in the 30th edition of SEA Games.


  • 4x100 mixed relay - Eloiza Luzon, Anfernee Lopena, Kristina Knott, Eric Cray
  • Men's 110 meter hurdles - Clinton Bautista
  • Men's 400 meter hurdles - Eric Cray 
  • Men's Decathlon - Aries Toledo 
  • Men's Javelin Throw - Melvin Calano
  • Men's Pole Vault - EJ Obiena
  • Men's Shot Put - William Morrison III
  • Women's 200 meter run - Kristina Knott
  • Women's heptathlon - Sarah Dequinan
  • Women's Marathon - Christine Hallasgo
  • Women's Pole Vault - Natalie Uy


  • Men's 800 meter run - Carter Lilly
  • Men's 1500 meter run - Mariano Masano
  • Men's Discus Throw - William Morrison III
  • Men's Triple Jump - Mark Harry Diones
  • Women's 4x100 relay - Zion Nelson, Kayla Richardson, Kyla Richardson, Kristina Knott
  • Women's 100 meter run - Kristina Knott
  • Women's 3000 meter steeplechase - Joida Gagnao
  • Women's marathon - Mary Joy Tabal


  • 4x400 mixed relay - Reymond Alferos, Robyn Brown, Maureen Schrijvers, Edgardo Alejan Jr.
  • Men's 4x100 relay - Anfernee Lopez, Clinton Bautista, Francis Medina, Eric Cray
  • Men's 4x400 relay - Edgardo Alejano Jr, Michael Carlo del Prado, Frederick Ramirez, Joyme Sequita
  • Men's 5000m run - Sonny Wagdos 
  • Men's Decathlon - Janry Ubas
  • Women's 4x400 relay - Eloiza Luzon, Jessel Lumapas, Maureen Schrijvers, Robyn Brown
  • Women's 400 meter hurdles - Robyn Brown
  • Women's 5000 meter run - Joida Gagnao

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.