PH students win 87 medals in Thailand math contest


Posted at Feb 26 2018 11:46 AM | Updated as of Oct 11 2018 06:50 PM

Some of the Filipino medalists in the TIMO. Handout photo

MANILA – Students from the Philippines won a total of 87 awards at the recently concluded Thailand International Mathematical Olympiad (TIMO) held in Bangkok.

They took home 14 gold, 25 silver, and 33 bronze medals, as well as 11 merit awards and four special prizes, according to the Philippine Brain Power Society, which accompanied the team to the contest. 

The 14 gold medalists are Matthew Shawn Tansiongkun, Jo Aristotle Nikolai Calica, Ralph Benedict Bolanos, Andrei Lenard Chan, Alessandra Basobas, Reilyn Abbigayle So, Aqeel Nikolai Mamutuk, Samantha Lianne Cheong, Anika Gayle Tan, Adrian Guanson Soriaga, Benn Jethro Sia, Alexandra Louis Chan, Sabrina Louis Cheong, and Adrian Alexander Luy.

Tansiongkun also won as champion in the Grade 9 level, while Bolanos finished first runner-up and received the World Star Award in the Grade 3 level.

Mamutuk, on the other hand, was named second runner-up in the Kindergarten level. 

The 25 silver medalists are Nur Mikhail Ahaja, Candice Anne Hsieh, Hans Cedric Galande, Audrey Christen Tan, Jace Mateus Que, Maxene Janelle Lee, Lance Vincent Canceran, Andrea Margarette Ganancial, Ely Exekiel Miclat, Alan Nageena Mamutuk, Jhann Rainey Ramos, Jullion Louis Que, Enzo Wang, Anastasia Claire Pua, Alexis Griff Genovatin, Ruthchell Gubay, Robert William Ang, Lance Jacob Pichel, Reyhan Aldric Uy, Chelsea Alen Valdez, John Vincent Chua, Wynette Kristi Chua, Brianna Mielle Yeo, Kyla Keith Tan, and Ma. Allyssa Bea Duya. 

The following students received 33 bronze medals: Allesandro Lenard Chan, Jana Mei Villanueva, Nash Adriez Hong, Eunice Stephanie Ang, Alijah Dane Andaya, Mariel Anthonette Jastiva, Louisse Cassandra Ang, Fhershaima Jamalul, Zachary Aiden Hong, Avery Shana Lim, Gabriel Royce Lim, Craig Sabian Sy, Selene Jia Uy, Brylle Zachary Tan, Mia Wilhelmina Ang, Inigo Lorenzo Ku, Aleksey Zac, Miykael Cuares, Miquille Carlia Escalona, Jiro Phoenix Lim, Roi Victor Roberto, Justine Kenneth Co, Ayianna Therese Tan, Vin Cedric Ong, Kim Valerie Sy, Tristan Chase Uy, Sean Derrick Chen, Zachary Thomas Pua, Mikaela Eshe Penaflor, Sam Jacob Uy, Kaitlynne Maree Chua, Theus Gift Edwin Filipinas, Lance Natividad, and Breann Jean Sia.

The 11 merit awards were given to Zyra Ariana Gabrielle Cuares, Jonathan Gabriel Lay, Jastine Edritz Abon, Derek Limketkai, Bevilen Bibi, Naveen Fahimah Abdisa, Daniel Dimatulac, Gupreet Dol, Claudine Grospe, Dianne Villanueva, and Almira Ava Jamil Abdulsalam.

Thailand led the medal tally with 36 gold, followed by Hong Kong with 23, and the Philippines with 14. 

Other participants in the TIMO came from Bulgaria, Singapore, Indonesia, and Iran.