PBA: Barroca, Compton fined after testy Game 4

Camille B. Naredo, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Dec 13 2018 02:41 PM | Updated as of Dec 13 2018 03:58 PM

Magnolia guard Mark Barroca (L) was fined P50,000. Richard Esguerra, ABS-CBN Sports

MANILA, Philippines -- (UPDATED) Both Alaska head coach Alex Compton and Magnolia guard Mark Barroca have been sanctioned following a contentious Game 4 of the 2018 PBA Governors' Cup finals.

Barroca was caught hitting Alaska guard Chris Banchero below the belt with two minutes and 40 seconds to go in the game, which turned out to be a 90-76 triumph for the Aces.

Afterward, Alaska coach Alex Compton called out the Hotshots for their overly physical play, and wondered if the league would do anything about the situation.

On Thursday afternoon, the PBA announced that Barroca had been fined P50,000 "for hitting Chris Banchero near his private area."

This, even after both Barroca and Banchero talked to PBA commissioner Willie Marcial after the game, with Barroca saying that no sanctions were discussed.

"Ni-review namin 'yung tape," said Marcial. "Eh non-call. Sa non-call, tiningnan ko kung may precedent, eh walang precedent. Pero nangyari sa amin 'yung kay (Don) Trollano, na sinuntok niya si Arwind Santos."

Marcial was referring to the incident between San Miguel and TNT KaTropa during the 2018 PBA Commissioner's Cup, which saw Santos and TNT's Anthony Semerad engage in a brawl. Both were ejected and fined P20,000. A video review also revealed that Trollano had hit Santos, but no foul was called during the game. Trollano was also docked P20,000.

"Ganoon ang nangyari kay Barroca. Tinaasan ko na (ang fine)," said Marcial. 

The commissioner said he also gave Barroca a stern warning that a repeat offense will merit an automatic suspension.

"Binigyan ko ng warning talaga si Barroca na huwag niyang uulitin," he said.

Compton was also fined "for issuing statements detrimental to the league." Marcial later revealed that Compton's fine was for P20,000, but the Alaska coach intended to appeal his sanction.

"Eh kasi naman, sinabi na namin na mahinahon muna siya, huwag muna siya mag-ano. Eh ganoon, so na-fine ko. Pero sabi niya maga-appeal siya, so kakausapin ko," Marcial explained.

The Alaska coach had expressed his belief that he should not "get in trouble or fined" for his sentiments.

"I think I have a right to defend my players," Compton had said. "I'm not saying that the referees intentionally missed it. But that's why we have all these cameras so we can review, so we can do something about it."

Marcial also revealed that the referee who missed the call, Rolando Dacanay, will be sanctioned as well. The commissioner explained that the official had watched the ball instead of the action, causing him to miss the incident.

"Dapat nakita niya, eh tumingin siya sa bola. Kung natawagan 'yun, wala tayong problema," said Marcial, who added that Dacanay may be suspended until the next PBA season.

The best-of-7 finals series is tied 2-2, with Game 5 set for Friday at the Araneta Coliseum. 

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.