UAAP 82: NU’s Mhicaela Belen, FEU’s Rans Cajolo named HS volleyball MVPs


Posted at Nov 16 2019 12:59 AM

Mhicaela Belen (left) powered National University to a 12-0 eliminations sweep, while Rans Cajolo was at the forefront of FEU's 11-2 campaign. Handout

MANILA, Philippines—National University's Mhicaela Belen and Far Eastern University's Rans Cajolo are set to claim the Most Valuable Player awards in their respective divisions in the UAAP Season 82 High School Volleyball Tournament.

Belen finished the eliminations seventh in the scoring race with 122 points on 98 spikes, 16 service aces, and eight blocks. Moreover, she powered NU to a 12-0 eliminations sweep.

Belen, who will also bag the first Best Outside Hitter, ended second in spiking with 46.89 percent success rate, first in receiving with 35.71-percent efficiency, and ninth in both digging and service.

This is her second MVP award after Season 80.

Cajolo, meanwhile, topped the scoring race in the boys' division after leading FEU to the top seed with an 11-2 record, with 191 points built on 150 attacks, 32 blocks, and nine service aces.

He will also pocket the Best Opposite Hitter plum after placing second in spiking with a 44.91 success percentage and second in blocking with a 0.67 average per set.

NU's 6-foot-2 utility Alyssa Solomon will take the Best Opposite Spiker award while teammate Camilla Lamina will take home her second-straight Best Setter award with 4.53 average per set.

Adamson's Kate Santiago will be named second Best Outside Hitter while FEU's Alexis Miner will claim the first Best Middle Blocker award.

Junior Tigress Bernadett Pepito will bag her fourth consecutive Best Libero plum while teammates Ela Raagas and Sophia Abbu will get the Rookie of the Year and second Best Middle Blocker awards, respectively.

Baby Tamaraws Benny Martinez and Angelo Lipata will take the Best Setter and second Best Middle Blocker awards, respectively, while UST's Paul Colinares and Rey De Vega will collect the first Best Middle Blocker and second Best Outside Hitter plums.

Rounding out the awardees in the boys' division are first Best Outside Hitter Francis Babon from UE, Best Libero Menard Guerrero from the defending champions NU and Junior Warrior Brent Maralit who will gain Rookie of the Year.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.