Ray Parks, 2 other Pinoys selected as ABL’s all-time top 10 players

Camille B. Naredo, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Oct 10 2019 05:51 PM

Steven Thomas (from left), Jerick Cañada, Xavier Alexander, Mario Wuysang, Chris Charles and Attaporn Lertmalaiporn attend the event on Thursday that named them to the ABL's all-time list of top 10 players. Besides Cañada, Ray Parks Jr. and Leo Avenido were the other Filipino players who made the list. Arvin Lim, ABS-CBN Sports

MANILA, Philippines -- Ray Parks Jr. is one of three Filipino players to make it to the list of the top 10 ASEAN Basketball League (ABL) players of all time, which was unveiled Thursday during the launch of the league's 10th season at Conrad Hotel.

Parks played three seasons in the ABL, spending all of them with San Miguel Alab Pilipinas, and was named Local MVP three times. 

Also included in the list is Leo Avenido, a one-time Local MVP and a champion in 2013 with San Miguel Beer. He is an ABL Lifetime Achievement Awardee, and is ranked fifth overall in the league's scoring list.

Jerick Cañada is the third Filipino on the list. He is a two-time ABL champion, and was the Finals MVP in 2014 with Hi-Tech Bangkok City.

Jimmy Alapag, who coached Parks in Alab Pilipinas, said the honor was well deserved.

"It's rightfully so. Ray had a storied career in the ABL so it's great to see him get the recognition, along with the other nine guys, the recognition that they deserve," he said.

"You see it's multiple players from different countries, and it's great for the league. I think that's what the ABL is about, and to see the league continue to grow, I'm thankful to be part of the process."

Completing the list are: Xavier Alexander, Chris Charles, Marcus Elliott, Attaporn Lertmalaiporn, Steven Thomas, Wong Wei Long, and Mario Wuysang.

"Hopefully, the next 10 or 20 guys will be able to follow suit and have the same type of impact on the league," said Alapag.

According to the ABL, the players were selected based on their accolades, such as championships and individual achievements as well as years of service and impact in the league.

The ABL first identified its top 40 players, which was eventually reduced to 21. Voting was then opened to fans via the league's official website. The top 10 was made official after a final deliberation, which factored in other criteria aside from the fan votes.

Parks was one of four players who did not attend the ceremony at Conrad, along with Elliott, and Wei Long as they all had prior commitments. Avenido had a family emergency, according to the ABL. 

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.