NCAA: San Beda pulls away from JRU for 12th straight win

Camille B. Naredo, ABS-CBN News

Posted at Sep 19 2019 04:26 PM

James Canlas scored 18 points to help San Beda stay unbeaten. ABS-CBN Sports

MANILA, Philippines – San Beda University weathered a challenging first half to pull away from Jose Rizal University, 65-47, and stay unbeaten in the NCAA Season 95 men's basketball tournament on Thursday at the FilOil Flying V Centre in San Juan.

Down 31-27 at the half, the Red Lions leaned on top MVP candidate Calvin Oftana to take control of the game in the third quarter.

Oftana put up 10 points in the frame, while James Canlas scored the transition lay-up that put San Beda ahead for good, 44-43, with 1:34 to go. 

It would be all San Beda in the fourth quarter, with the Red Lions scoring 11 straight points and clamping down defensively for a 58-43 spread. It would take until the 3:10 mark of the final frame before the Bombers notched their first – and only – field goal of the period.

Canlas finished with 18 points, 7 rebounds, 2 assists, and a steal, while Oftana had 12 points, 7 rebounds, 3 assists, and 3 blocks. 

Evan Nelle added 11 points and 4 assists, while Donald Tankoua had 10 points and 4 boards.

San Beda outscored JRU, 38-16, in the second half to cruise to their 12th straight victory of Season 95.

Agem Miranda led the Heavy Bombers with 14 points, and John Amores added 11 markers. But they could not sustain their fine shooting from the first half, and finished the game with a 34.78% clip from the field. 

JRU also committed a whopping 26 turnovers that San Beda translated to 26 points.

The Bombers dropped to 4-8 in the tournament. 

The scores:

SAN BEDA 65 – Canlas 18, Oftana 12, Nelle 11, Tankoua 10, Doliguez 8, Abuda 2, Alfaro 2, Bahio 2, Carino 0, Cuntapay 0, Etrata 0, Soberano 0.

JOSE RIZAL 47 – Miranda 14, Amores 11, Delos Santos 5, Vasquez 5, Aguilar 4, Dionisio 4, Dela Rosa 3, Jungco 1, Arenal 0, Mactangay 0.

Quarter-scores: 21-15, 27-31, 47-43, 65-47.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.