PSL: Petron opens 3-peat bid against Marinera


Posted at Jun 20 2019 05:46 AM | Updated as of Jun 20 2019 06:32 AM

The Blaze Spikers will battle league newcomer Marinerang Pilipina. Photo courtesy of the PSL Facebook page

MANILA, Philippines – Petron kicks off its quest for a third straight title while Foton eyes its second consecutive win, when the Philippine Superliga (PSL) All-Filipino Conference rolls to the Imus Sports Center in Imus City on Thursday.

The Blaze Spikers will battle league newcomer Marinerang Pilipina at 4:15 p.m., while the Tornadoes take on Generika-Ayala at 7 p.m.

Petron welcomes UAAP MVP Sisi Rondina, who joins their core of Ces Molina, Aiza Maizo-Pontillas, Mika Reyes, Bernadeth Pons and Rhea Dimaculangan.

"We have to take care of the dynasty that we worked hard for," said delos Santos, whose team is gunning for an unprecedented three-peat.

Meanwhile, Foton is looking to join F2 Logistics at the top of the league standings, after opening its campaign with a 17-25, 25-18, 25-16, 25-21 victory over Sta. Lucia late Tuesday at the Filoil Flying V Centre in San Juan.

Elaine Kasilag led the way for the Tornadoes with 20 points, while Jaja Santiago and Dindin Santiago-Manabat took turns in manning the net for Foton.

Foton coach Aaron Velez was glad to see Kasilag step up, especially as he does not want to rely too heavily on the Santiago sisters for production on offense.

"I don't want to bank too much on the Santiago sisters. This is a team sport, so I told them that we're not here to build a star player. We want to make a star team," he explained.

Generika-Ayala is tipped to give Foton a tough challenge after the Lifesavers made short work of Marinera, 25-18, 25-15, 25-23, also on Tuesday afternoon.

"Generika is a defensive team. They can sustain their energy from start to finish," said Velez on facing the Lifesavers. "We have to double time because they already adjusted from their first game."

Generika coach Sherwin Meneses will again lean on his core, Patty Orendain, Ria Meneses, Fiola Ceballos, Angeli Araneta, Jamie Lavitoria and libero Kath Arado.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.