Female athletes take center stage in PSA Awards


Posted at Jan 28 2019 07:37 AM

MANILA, Philippines -- The Philippine Sportswriters Association (PSA) honors the Filipina athlete when it holds its annual Awards Night at the Manila Hotel next month.

For making the country proud by winning gold medals in the 18th Asian Games in Indonesia last year, Hidilyn Diaz, Yuka Saso, the women's golf team, and Margielyn Didal will be recognized with the prestigious Athlete of the Year award by the sportswriting community in the event set on February 26.

Diaz topped the women's -53kg event of weightlifting, Saso emerged as the individual champion in golf and steered the women's team to the top of the podium, while Didal became the new toast of Philippine sports when she ruled the street skateboard competition, which made its debut in the Asiad last year.

The four golds won by the Filipina athletes were the most since the quarter of Antonio Gabica, Violito Paula, Joan Tipon, and Rene Catalan also brought home four mints during the 2006 edition of the Asian Games in Doha, Qatar.

In tribute to the triumphant Filipinas, bemedalled athlete Bea Lucero-Lhuillier will serve as the inspirational guest speaker in the annual affair.

A two-sport athlete, Lucero-Lhuillier won two gold medals in gymnastics in the 1987 Southeast Asian Games in Jakarta, and bagged a bronze in the 1992 Barcelona Olympics when taekwondo served as a demonstration sport.

This marks the first time in almost a decade that the PSA will have an all-female recipient of the Athlete of the Year honor.

Back in 2009, pool champion Rubilen Amit, long-jump queen Marestella Torres, and the poomsae team of Rani Ann Ortega, Camille Alarilla, and Janice Lagman were also recognized as the Athletes of the Year by the PSA.

Other awards will also be handed out during the event. To be recognized are the National Sports Association of the Year, Executive of the Year, Mr. Basketball, Mr. and Ms. Volleyball, and Mr. Football.

There will also be the regular President's Award, major awards, citations, the Tony Siddayao Awards, the MILO Junior Athletes of the Year, posthumous, as well as a lifetime achievement awardee.

For more sports coverage, visit the ABS-CBN Sports website.