Sharon Cuneta’s brother lagging in latest SWS survey on Pasay mayoralty


Posted at Mar 08 2019 05:52 PM | Updated as of Mar 08 2019 06:12 PM

MANILA - Chet Cuneta, the brother of megastar Sharon Cuneta, is trailing behind the mayoral race in Pasay City, based on the latest Social Weather Stations (SWS) survey.

In the latest electoral preference survey of SWS conducted from Jan. 25 to 28, only 14 percent of 600 respondents said they would likely vote for "Chetsharon Cuneta," the candidate’s name on the ballot where he affixed his celebrity sister’s name.

Leading the race is incumbent Pasay City Representative Emi Calixto-Rubiano with 81 percent preference.

At the bottom of the list are candidates ET Togonon (3 percent), JT Trinidad (1 percent) and Tin Ching (0.3 percent). One percent said they were undecided.

It was in July last year that Sharon Cuneta announced her brother's candidacy for the same position their father, the late Pablo Cuneta, held for many years.

Chet Cuneta is running under a political coalition that supports President Rodrigo Duterte.

Besides the mayoral race, the SWS survey, commissioned by a certain Lutgardo Villegas Cruz, also asked respondents about their bets for congressman and vice mayor.

Eighty six percent of the respondents said they would likely vote for Antonino Calixto for representative. Antonino Calixto is the incumbent Pasay mayor and brother of Representative Emi Calixto-Rubiano.

They will likely be swapping positions if they win in the upcoming May elections.

Trailing behind Calixto are congressional candidates Efren Alas (6 percent), Elmer Mitra (3 percent), Pete Ordiales (one percent), and Mommy Metel Gerbolinga (1 percent).

Meanwhile, 66 percent of respondents favor Calixto-Rubiano's runningmate, reelectionist Vice Mayor Boyet del Rosario. In second spot is Richard Advincula with 26 percent. Bong Tebelin and Armando Magbanua got one percent each.

The survey has a confidence level of 95 percent and error margins of ±4 percent for the whole Pasay City and ±6 percent for each of the two electoral districts.