19 senatorial bets, 2 debates on Harapan 2019's last Sunday


Posted at Mar 01 2019 10:22 PM | Updated as of Mar 01 2019 11:05 PM

A total of 19 Senate hopefuls will try to persuade the public they are each worthy of support as they address key national issues in the third and fourth installments of the "Harapan 2019: The ABS-CBN Senatorial Town Hall Debate." 

This debate series is on its third and final Sunday this March 3, with back-to-back debates happening at 12 p.m. and at 7 p.m.

The third and fourth rounds of the Harapan debate series will be aired live on ABS-CBN News Channel (ANC), DZMM TeleRadyo, iWant, news.abs-cbn.com and other ABS-CBN online platforms.

Among the confirmed senatorial candidates for the lunchtime debate are Labor Party Philippines candidates Shariff Albani, Gerald Arcega, Marcelino Arias, Melchor Chavez, Jose Sonny Matula, and Luther Meniano.

Independent candidates Jesus Caceres, Charlie Gaddi, Emily Mallillin, and Allan Montaño will also attend this debate alongside Filipino Family Party bet Balde Baldevarona. 

The fourth debate airing live 7 p.m. features reelectionist JV Ejercito, United Nationalist Alliance candidate Dan Kaibigan Roleda, Partido Lakas ng Masa bet Ka Leody De Guzman, Partido Federal ng Pilipinas' Dado Padilla and Elmer Francisco, and Katipunan ng Demokratikong Pilipino bets Toti Casiño and RJ Javellana.

Senate candidate Ernesto Arellano is the lone independent candidate in the fourth debate.

The 7 p.m. debate will have same-day broadcast on ABS-CBN Channel 2 on "Sunday’s Best," after "Gandang Gabi Vice," while the 12 p.m. debate will also be seen on "Sunday's Best" on March 17. 

Debate format

Just like the first and second rounds, the third and fourth Harapan 2019 debates will follow a "town hall" format. This will allow candidates to share their views on pressing national issues laid to them by Filipino public.

The first run of Harapan 2019 last February 17 made rounds online as it topped local and international trending lists on social media.