WATCH: Tears flow as ‘Showtime’ approaches 10th year on air


Posted at Jan 24 2019 06:09 PM | Updated as of Jan 24 2019 07:41 PM

‘It’s Showtime’ hosts Teddy Corpuz, Anne Curtis, and Amy Perez turn emotional as the program approaches its 10th anniversary. ABS-CBN

MANILA -- Nostalgic hosts of “It’s Showtime” shed tears in its opening minutes on Thursday, as the ABS-CBN noontime program started counting down to its 10th anniversary with an emotional retrospective.

Leading up to its first decade on air in October, “It’s Showtime” is marking every month with celebratory numbers and a look-back at each of its past nine years.

After the so-called “ShowTime Machine” recounted the 2009 debut of the then-morning talent show, as well as challenges that beset it, original mainstays Anne Curtis and Teddy Corpuz could not help but give tearful speeches about being part of the program.

Curtis said she has found a family in her co-hosts and the rest of the “It’s Showtime” staff over the years, while Corpuz shared how the show changed his life, especially after going through a dark period just weeks before its maiden telecast.

Watch more in iWant or

Amy Perez, formerly a guest judge on the show, was similarly emotional as she admitted once reaching a point, prior to her becoming a mainstay, when she doubted she could still have a showbiz career.

“It’s Showtime,” which for three years was a morning variety show, became the flagship noontime program of ABS-CBN in 2012. Its segments have evolved over the years, and has seen several hosts come and go.

Current regulars, aside from Curtis, Corpuz, and Perez, include Vice Ganda, Vhong Navarro, Jugs Jugueta, Karylle, Jhong Hilario, Ryan Bang, and Mariel Rodriguez.